Tom Sawyer (1973)

5 Jan

tomsawyer1973ctomsawyer1973d

Tom Sawyer with Johnny Whitaker
Year: 1973
Year in film: 1800s
Country: USA
Who in bibs: boy Tom, other boy, men
Available on DVD: yes
I own: no, partly TV recordings
Bib occurence: medium
Rating:  6/10
Rating: ******
Comment: Johnny Whitaker (pictured left) and at least 2 other boys in bibs. I don’t like this musical version. There are also a lot of other Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn movies. But I don’t know of any with blue Jeans bibs like this. Bibs are a too small and short. Also some shirtless scenes of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn. At this time I have also an entry of Huckleberry Finn and His Friends (1979) starring Ian Tracey in brown bibs. I think that at the time of Tom Sawyer jeans overalls are not even invented.

Edit: I added images (one of the last posts without pics). I think the boy at the right image is Huck Finn, but not sure. This film is not so bad, so I rate it 6 instead of 5. I just don’t like boys with longer curly red hair. And this is the only Tom Sawyer in bibs. There is also Huck & the King of Hearts (see that entry) with very good baggy bibs, but loosely based on the novel.

Leave a Reply

