Story 129: Pulling up pant legs before sitting or kneeing – The Waltons

9 Jun

maryellenlifting2

I noticed this before, Mary Ellen (now around 19 yo) often pulling up her pant legs when sitting or kneeing down. This scene is from s4e21 (disc 6 at 1h01). Before this, she had her thumbs in her pockets. She often sits on the floor in the living room (so the way down is longer than sitting on the bench at the table).

Her bibs are a bit baggy but not that much. If someone’s bibs are too tight then he or she might doing the same.

I have to check more episodes and other movies for that behavior. Maybe boys rarely doing this. (Or they rarely wearing bibs that tight or that baggy to avoid it).

The same problem occurs when cycling, running, dancing, jumping or other activities.

I only remember one younger teen boy cycling in very baggy bibs in Huck & the King of Hearts (rating 7+), but I don’t remember him doing this.

/2011/01/12/the-waltons-season-4/

/2013/10/24/list-25-the-waltons-mary-ellen-walton/

/2011/01/05/the-waltons/

/2011/07/28/when-every-day-was-the-fourth-of-july/

/2011/09/01/venkovsky-ucitel/

4 Responses to “Story 129: Pulling up pant legs before sitting or kneeing – The Waltons”

  1. Stehanie June 23, 2016 at 3:54 pm #

    I always pull up my pant legs several inches before sitting down. It helps prevent the pants from wrinkling and the knee area from stretching out. I have been doing this since I was 12 and my mother told me about it.

    • Admin June 23, 2016 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks for sharing. I was never told this. Maybe mainly girls are. But girls often wear dresses, especially farm girls in the 30s and 40s.

      • Stehanie June 24, 2016 at 2:21 am #

        Julia Stiles always pulls up her pants in the 10 things I hate about you, and the movie Business of strangers. She also pulls them up in some late night talk show interviews

  2. Stefan July 21, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

    I sometimes do this with my less-baggy overalls, sitting makes the back of the overalls tighten and the front bunch up, pulling on the pant legs can prevent this somewhat 🙂

Leave a Reply

